PDA

View Full Version : Professional Head Hunter?

ha98ed14
02-27-2008, 03:35 AM
Does anyone know how using a professional head hunter works? Does the job seeker pay them or the employer looking? As a potential employee, how do you get in touch with a head hunter and how do you know which ones are reputable and which ones are flakes?

I have been looking for a job pretty consistently since October. I have a master's degree from an ivy league school and 5 years experience in my field. We are open to leaving SoCal, so geography is not necessarily a barrier.

I also have a BFF who is currently employed and they pay her so little for the metro area she works in (NYC), it is REDICULOUS. She also has her master's. We were talking and wondering how people find head hunters, job coaches or other people who help you market yourself or reinvent yourself for a new field/ job change/ comeback after being a SAHM.

Any ideas? TIA!

firstbaby
02-27-2008, 08:37 AM
The hiring company pays the headhunter a fee on your first year's base salary - anywhere between 20 to 25%. So, it is expensive for the company, but if it helps them access hard to find talent, they are willing to do it.

Any headhunter that asks the job seeker to pay any money is not reputable and you should run the other way.

Puddy73
02-27-2008, 12:02 PM
The hiring company pays the headhunter a fee on your first year's base salary - anywhere between 20 to 25%. So, it is expensive for the company, but if it helps them access hard to find talent, they are willing to do it.

Any headhunter that asks the job seeker to pay any money is not reputable and you should run the other way.

Ditto. In some industries, using a headhunter is almost essential. DH was unemployed and diligently searching for a job for 8 months. He finally contacted a headhunter, had three interviews within weeks and ultimately landed a great job. It can't hurt to contact a few. Good luck!

jenmcadams
02-27-2008, 12:33 PM