PDA

View Full Version : Any lawyers out there? Question about last night's Eli Stone

Mom to Brandon and 2 cats
03-14-2008, 11:55 PM
So, the trial lawyer pretended to have a transcript from a M&M conference (they were trying an anesthesiologist who had a 15% higher than normal fatality rate). So the premise is that what is said in the M&M conference is privileged information, so it can't be shared in a trial. But yet they pretended to have a transcript of the trial, and tricked the head of the hospital into admitting that the anesthesiologist was a danger to the hospital.

My question is: does this stuff really happen in real life? Pretending to have false documentation seems kind of shady to me. But I'm not a lawyer, so....

Thanks for any insight. For some reason, this is kind of bugging me.

bubbaray
03-15-2008, 01:11 PM
The ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct says that a lawyer shall not knowingly make a false statement of fact or law to a tribunal (which would include in court at trial):

http://www.abanet.org/cpr/mrpc/rule_3_3.html

Rule dealing with opposing counsel and parties:
http://www.abanet.org/cpr/mrpc/rule_3_4.html

This rule governs dealings with non-clients:
http://www.abanet.org/cpr/mrpc/rule_4_1.html

Most states (not NY, CA or ME) follow the ABA model rules on PC.... We have similar rules of professional conduct in each province in Canada. The rules are based on centuries of practice in the UK, which is historical origins of the legal systems in the US, Canada, and the rest of the (current & former) Commonwealth countries.