PDA

View Full Version : Need help with newborn feeding (LONG)

cmonbaby
03-16-2008, 06:09 PM
I hope I remember to write everything in this thread because I have so much on my mind that I think I need help with.

DD is my second baby and she is a very efficient nurser. Only takes approx. 5 minutes to feed and usually only takes one side at each feeding and then she falls asleep so sound that I can't easily wake her to get her to switch sides. If I do get her to switch, she doesn't last more than a couple of minutes on the second side.

She is 2 weeks old today by the way.

She is very, very difficult to burp and usually only burps when we're repositioning her. I am embarassed to say that I am a NICU nurse and jokingly claim to "burp babies for a living" so I feel that my technique is good. She's just a tough one to burp. On the other hand, she is incredibly gassy from the other end and has those breastfeeding explosive diaper fillers. Her stools are yellow & seedy (not green implying she gets too much foremilk and not enough hindmilk). BUT I know that I have forceful letdown as she often coughs and pulls away from the breast. This happened with my son too. She is gaining weight nicely so I know she is getting what she needs nutritionally (at least I think so according to our ped.)

She also seems uncomfortable and gets really squirmy like her belly is bothering her when she is awake. I know she is hungry when she wakes because she gets the hiccups right before her feeding... isn't that weird? I've never seen that with a baby before. Definitely after a feeding when not burping properly, but hours afterwards??? I'm stumped on that one.