PDA

View Full Version : Flying with 1 yr. old- Any tips, suggestions, etc.?

dolphilisa
04-07-2008, 08:41 PM
I'm flying to Orlando this coming Thursday (not to Disney) with my 1 year old DS. It's my first time flying with a child. It's only a two hour flight (I'm praying for no delays!). Anyone have tips or suggestions for the waiting time beforehand in the terminal, on the plane, etc.? What to take on the plane for DS and for myself(clothing, any particular toys)? Are you allowed to take things like applesauce, yogurt, cheese sticks, etc? With the safety regulations, I'm not exactly sure what's allowed and what isn't. I assume you're allowed sippy cups?? He'll be sitting on my lap. (yes, I know about safety issues due to turbulence, etc.)

TIA!

hannah
04-09-2008, 05:27 PM
I have flown a lot with our kids. For the plane I always take plenty of diapers/wipes and food. Lots of snacks - sometimes I bring new foods that they have never seen before. I was able to get through security with yogurt, applesauce, cheese sticks and the small Gerber bottles of juice (4 oz). Sometimes I empty the sippy cups out before going through security. Be prepared to purchase water or milk on the other side. Not all airlines have milk on board (some only carry it for morning flights) so sometimes I purchase that before getting on the plane. Also I have gotten through with milk in a sippy. I also bring at least 2 extra outfits for each kid - and sometimes an extra shirt for me. We now have a portable DVD player that we brought on the last trip for DD (3yo). For DS (1yo) I brought some small toys and books. He also played with the airline magazines and the headphones.
Relax- you'll do fine. And remember that only about the 3 or 4 rows in front and in back of you can hear if DC is screaming! Have a safe trip!

californiagirl
04-09-2008, 06:11 PM