PDA

View Full Version : Buy carrier BEFORE or AFTER baby arrives?

tmarie
04-21-2008, 07:32 AM
I am in full nesting mode and trying to get everything done. This is my second child so I don't have a shower to wait for. With my first dd I borrowed an old bjorn but didn't really use/need it. This time I would like to have an Active Bjorn or Ergo, as well as a hotsling. Is it impractical to buy these before baby arrives though, not knowing whether or not she will like them?

TIA!

tmarie
dd#1 5/05
dd#2 7/08

sidmand
04-21-2008, 09:00 AM
Any chance you can borrow them to see if your baby likes them before buying? I bought (almost) every sling known to man for DS and he HATED all of them. The only one he would tolerate is the Bjorn...the one he was supposed to dislike the most.

Can the Ergo or Bjorn be used with a new new baby? I'm a carrier newbie (since DS never did take to them) but I've been using the peanut shell, hotsling, and kknap (sp?) with DD so far and so far so good, but DH has forbidden me from getting any new ones! :ROTFLMAO:

wellyes
04-21-2008, 09:55 AM
In theory, after. But when is there the opportunity to go shopping with a newborn? LOL

I have a Moby, perfect for newborns - very snuggly.

SnuggleBuggles
04-21-2008, 10:18 AM
I would grab a sling or wrap now and then wait on any others. If you can find a NINO (nine in, nine out) group in your area itwould be great to go even while still pg and look at the choices and get their expertise for what size to get. I had walked in to my 1st NINO meeting holding my size 4 Hotsling (chose it when 8m pg and based it on the size guide) and they talked me into a 2. They could tell by looking at me that once I wasn't pg anymore a 2 would be great for me and they were right. :) Some stores have good staff so it might be helpful to at least look at b&m stores before buying on line.

Beth

MommyAllison
04-21-2008, 07:36 PM