PDA

View Full Version : Teachers who burned out of public schools--what did you do?

aidansmommy
04-25-2008, 01:30 PM
I'm feeling pretty trapped right now in my job and am not sure what to do. I'm a teacher and have been working for 10 years now in the same K-6 district. Up until this year I have just loved where I work. This year I come back to my now part-time position after a year maternity leave to a new superintendant who isn't crazy about the 1/2 position the old guy made for me and has basically been making my life really hard. He's definitely trying to find a loophole to get rid of me.
At this point, I have a 4 year old and a 1 year old and I'm just not ready for full-time work and I really feel like a need a break from the BS and politics that go on in a public school.
This is where I'm starting to feel upset because I feel like there's nothing else I can do with this teaching degree of mine and I'm feeling trapped. For instance, my SIL is a RN and she just gave up a job in the ICU of a hospital and is now doing in-home nursing and she loves is and is so happy to have a change of setting. My sister is a speech therapist and she can work in a hospital, nursing home, elementary school, do private therapy, etc. Their possibilities seem endless.
But what else can I do? Any suggestions or ideas of alternate settings or maybe even something completely different that I'd be qualified to do?
Right now I'm earning $25K a year with a 20 hour work week. So I'd like to find/do something earning in that ball park for part-time work.
Any suggestions???

schums
04-25-2008, 01:36 PM
Not a teacher, but I know several who've taken breaks from teaching when they had kids. Most did private tutoring, using students/friends as a base to start with. You set the hours and the rate. Depending on where you are in the country, you can make a good living at this. Many of my friends who did this never went back to teaching -- they'd have to take a pay cut (on an hourly basis).

GL!