PDA

View Full Version : When did you go on maternity leave?

Bea_Arthur
05-06-2008, 01:37 PM
I am new to all of this, so I hope you girls might be able to give me something to go on...

How early/late did you begin maternity leave? I'd like to work as long as possible to help supplement our income while I can, but I don't want to cut it too close. And when is too close? Who knows when the baby will actually come!

I work at home, so this affords some conveniences, but sometimes I tend to overestimate what I can do; for instance, will I need a week to ready things and relax work-free or can I conceivably do this while working straight up to the due date (June 23rd)?

I plan to take off six weeks and "go back" part-time instead of full time... but again, I don't know what I'll be able to do while working at home with a newborn. Will this be reasonable? I mostly spend my day communicating via email and phone calls with my company and the subcontractors I manage (not constantly, I also review and generate reports). It is quite a flexible work environment... I am lucky.

Any thoughts? There's just no way for me to really know what to expect, so any input is greatly appreciated.

thanks!
Heather

m448
05-06-2008, 01:40 PM
with my first (I've been a SAHM since) I worked until 4 days before my due date and still went almost 10 days post dates before going into labor.

momtoonegirl
05-06-2008, 01:44 PM
I began my maternity leave one month before my due date. I had a stressful job that required working 10 or more hours a day, and my OB thought that would be a good time to stop working.

My husband was also commuting by plane to work, was only home on weekends until a week before my due date, and we did not have family close by (closest was a 4 hour plane ride away).

Everything worked out fine, and DD was born a few days late anyway :)

new_mommy25
05-06-2008, 01:46 PM
With DS I left one week before my due date. He was born on his due date.