PDA

View Full Version : need first bike recc's

clc053103
05-08-2008, 11:02 AM
Hi, I am a total novice at this, and with DS's 3rd b day around the corner, I would love to get him a nice bike.

First off, the stats. He's a big boy- about 40 inches tall, 40 lbs. He has a kettler which he "sometimes" peddles while I use the push bar.

My questions:
what size bike?
Training wheels,
Or balance bike to start?
Recommendations for either?

I see other parents around here starting with a training wheels bike, then going balance bike- and the Trek Float looks like it would be great when he was bigger/older, but I am not sure which way to go at this age and size.

TIA!

kcimato
05-10-2008, 11:35 AM
I just ordered my grandson a Strider balance bike for his 3rd birthday coming up in June. I saw it IRL at a local bike shop and it is well made and even has a place for them to put their feet as they coast. He just recently learned how to pedal his Kettler trike. He is about 38 inches and this will be perfect. I got it through

www.bitterbrushcycles.com As you go through the checkout there is a code for 10% off. Grand total was $88.46. The local bike shop wanted $120!

There are a few recent threads on balance bikes you could check out.

check them out at www.stridersports.com

Joolsplus2
05-10-2008, 02:04 PM
I'm hoping to skip the training wheels altogether for this kiddo... so we have a trike and a balance bike...both of which even my 8 yo dd will steal and happily ride :ROTFLMAO:. I figure we'll skip the 12 inch with trainers bike and go to a 16 inch without them, once she's been on the balance bike for a couple years.

:)

clc053103
05-15-2008, 08:13 AM
thank you for the info!

For some reason balance bikes don't seem to be popular around here (Phila area). Can't find a B&M store with them. A local bike shop owner actually said he considers them to be dangerous (?), along with scooters.