PDA

View Full Version : Potty training rewards? Motivation?

Emmas Mom
05-27-2008, 08:44 PM
DD#2 is 28 months. She can use the potty. She just doesn't like to, especially with #2. She'll run off to the corner & ANNOUNCE she's "going poo poo". Nice. :rolleyes: If I try to take her to the potty she throws a FIT, so I don't want to push it yet. But lately she'll even resist when I take her to pee, like when she wakes up from naps or in the morning. She's a grouch then. This is very different from DD#1 who was much easier to PT. So, does anyone have any ideas for rewards or ways to motivate her? We've got the Bear & the BBH DVD on Potty Time & one of the PTing kids books (can't remember the title, the one with the little girl named Hannah). They don't seem to be working with her & I'm hoping for some other ideas. :)

misshollygolightly
05-27-2008, 09:05 PM
I have no personal experience with this one (my baby is due in about a month), but a friend of mine came up with what I thought was a fairly clever reward system for her little girl--and it really works for them! After each successful potty trip (I think they only count #2s), she gets one Pez candy. She's thrilled because it's candy, it comes out of a fun dispenser (one she picked out herself), and she never gets to eat Pez otherwise, and my friend is happy because Pez are super cheap and really small (no fear of ruining dinner or anything!). Just an idea!

ThreeofUs
05-28-2008, 12:26 AM
We used stickers on train "potty training track" sheets. DS loved putting up the puffy Dora/Diego stickers and it eased his transition by refocusing the outcome. Also, when we got to the end of a "track", he knew he could go to Target and pick out any toy he wanted. After the first trip, he was hooked!

But, you know, we tried just about everything. M&M treats, other promises, stories, etc. I think what works for each child will be different.

citymama
05-28-2008, 01:05 AM
My 26 month old is totally motivated by sticker rewards. We