PDA

View Full Version : Sunscreen for your kids?

spencersmommy
06-05-2008, 07:34 PM
OK, so I am educating myself about the best lotions, body wash, and suncreen stuff out there for kids...regarding the checmicals used...and it's confusing! I used the website www.cosmeticsdatabase.com, they have rated sunscreens. They seem to like the California Baby Sunsticks (but how hard are they to put on large areas like arms and backs, etc) and Mustela Bebe (but the ingredients contain the parabens, a no-no chemical)...I am also getting info from Gorgeously Green by Sophie Uliano...and now I am just confused by all the choices out there!
Is there anyone who has done the research and tried the products and can recommend a suncreen for my kiddos that is safe and uses hardly any chemicals and is easy to apply?
And what research has anyone found that they would want to share! I am new to all of this...since finding out about BPA, I have been very interested in what else is in the stuff we use everyday!
thanks!

brittone2
06-05-2008, 09:12 PM
I've researched this quite a bit and for us, we are comfortable using California Baby unscented lotion and stick, and I just picked up some UV Naturals brand (baby and then sport for DH for cycling). The EWG site rates these both highly for ingredients and protection against UVA and UVB.