PDA

View Full Version : We are trying to wean

bethie_73
06-14-2008, 08:15 PM
So I am siting here listening to DS scream as DH tries to put him to bed. Don't get me wrong DH is very involved, but DS is a huge nurser and has NO desire to stop.

Ugh this is hard. :(

purpleeyes
06-14-2008, 10:24 PM
Hugs, mama! Good luck!

:22:

DrSally
06-14-2008, 11:31 PM
How old is DS? I've been weaning since DS was 18 months (slowly dropping feedings). DH isn't avail a lot of the time to put DS down to bed, so that can make it harder. I personally cannot tolerate the crying and begging for nursing. I'm doing the don't ask, don't refuse, distraction thing, but it really prolongs the weaning process. Ds is 2.5 now and can go several days wo/nursing, but still likes to nurse maybe 5 times/week. For my comfort level, though, I'm willing to trade the extended time frame for not having to suffer through his pain.

DeeEast
06-14-2008, 11:36 PM
How old is your DS? I nursed all 3 of my kids and weaned the twins at 18 months or so.

bubbaray
06-14-2008, 11:38 PM
I recently had to wean DD#2 (almost 17m) so that I could take a prescription antibiotic that I couldn't take while nursing (and my Dr. is very BFg friendly, but she wouldn't prescribe it until I had completely weaned). In late January, we were down to 2 sessions a day b/c I was back at work. I dropped the morning feeding mid/late May. So, it was just the evening/bedtime feeding to drop at the end. I didn't really *do* anything -- DH just put her to bed. I guess he's sick of my whining and moping around since JANUARY with this stupid sinus infection. Anyway, she cried and was out of sorts that first night, but has never looked back. I was SHOCKED. Seriously, shocked. He gave her a sippy of water and that is her new nightime "need". I've been replaced by a sippy cup of cold water, LOL.

With DD#1, I recall it being harder. She was younger, though -- I weaned her completely by 12m (happy birthday to her, LOL).