PDA

View Full Version : Advice about possible job

niccig
06-17-2008, 07:42 PM
I need some job advice. Backstory...I've been volunteering for years with an archaeologist on her research project. She has recently been promoted to Project Manager for the entire museum and has been trying to recruit me to the Project Team. DS is now older and in preschool, and I'm in a position where I can see myself working again. I'm also considering returning to school full-time, but I'm not sure on that and as the museum work is another option I've considered, I've decided to give that a go to see if I like it.

My background is a librarian at a university. The role at the museum would be research assistant/setting up an information management structure for the team - basically uses the same skill set I had in libraries.

I want to work part-time while DS is in preschool and we've verbally agreed to some work from home or elsewhere (eg. at the university library). I don't know how to go about talking about hours and pay. Generally, the museum world doesn't pay as well as the university setting I came from, but I don't want to be underpaid for what I'll be doing either. Despite working on a project for a few years, I don't think she realizes how qualified/experienced I am in certain areas. I was thinking of doing up my resume to show her before she writes up a job description.

I was also planning on working only 2 days a week, and using the other preschool day to volunteer at the UCLA Bone Lab - that's the area of archeology that I'm interested in. I know the museum would like me to work 3 days and not 2. And I don't know if I can manage 10-12 hours of work plus volunteer and then do all the normal child caring and household work that I do. I know that sounds silly to the parents that work full-time and/or have more than one DC.

So, any advice about how to navigate a return to work or how to balance work and volunteer and life and not procrastinate!

Thanks.

shilo