PDA

View Full Version : How should I respond? Help me be tactful.

mamicka
06-18-2008, 11:22 PM
I'm not good at being tactful *at all*. So I need some help here. This might be long but I'll try to keep it simple.

2 weeks ago DS (10.5 months) was in the nursery at church & I was with him. Totally unprovoked, a boy (~2 years) grabs one of those popcorn push toys, lifts it over his head, & smashes it square onto DS's forehead. Then laughs. The other nursery worker immediately handled this boy while I tended to DS, who was miraculously fine. She also talked to this boy's parents after church about what happened. She told me (because I'll be the nursery coordinator starting next month) that she was concerned because the parents kind-of acted as if there was no big problem since my DS wasn't hurt.

I haven't done/said anything because I'm still so livid that this happened to my *baby* that I know I'd not say the right thing.

So today I get an email from this boy's mom apologizing (which I'm grateful for) for what happened but equating it to her 2 sons wrestling or a child having a temper tantrum. I have 3 boys. I understand wrestling & getting out of hand. We are also no strangers to temper tantrums. What happened 2 weeks ago isn't the same as either one of those things.

So, how do I respond with grace & tact but not saying "it's OK"?

Davids-Coco
06-18-2008, 11:34 PM
I would respond and say that as a parent, you wanted to thank her for apologizing. But as the new nursery coordinator, you have to let her know that this type of behavior will not be acceptable and that the children are expected not to repeatedly hurt other children or else they will be asked to leave/not allowed in nursery/whatever the penalty is. I would also gently say something like... "Having three boys of my own, I understand temper tantrums and wrestling happen. However, the episode last week was clearly an act of aggression that we can not allow to happen repeatedly in nursery."