PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone witnessed a lavish 8th grade graduation?

SAHMIL
06-23-2008, 08:34 AM
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/22/fashion/22grad.html?pagewanted=1&ei=5124&en=de295c622e985460&ex=1371787200&partner=facebook&exprod=facebook

randomkid
06-23-2008, 02:42 PM
I haven't, but this seems to be happening more and more with everyday events that should be simple - birthday parties, etc. My stepdaughter was a junior in high school this year and on the tennis team. They had an end of the season party and she said some of the girls came dressed like it was prom. She said to me "C'mon people - it's Olive Garden!" - lol!

So, no, I wasn't aware of this, but I'm not surprised.

kijip
06-23-2008, 03:21 PM
Barack Obama's remarks in the article are nearly identical to those in his book, The Audacity of Hope.

MontrealMum
06-23-2008, 04:29 PM
Wow. I never had a graduation ceremony until I graduated from highschool. I attended the same school from grades 7-12. Each grade had a class trip (our class usually went camping, we were saving for senior year!). We also had a yearly school-wide awards ceremony and volunteer hours ceremony. I don't see why that's not enough anymore.

A good friend's daughter just "graduated" from 6th grade. Hair, makeup, fancy dress, and formal dance - and her parents are actually very down-to-earth, so I shudder to think what a to-do some of her classmates' parents might have gone to. And she'll be at the same school until she really graduates from highschool (it's a K-11 school). So, what is this marking? I can see the inner-city encouragement side of things that the article referred to, but not the lavish party aspect. But with my friend, her child goes to one of the most exclusive private schools in the country. All those kids are going on to college, no question about it, and they all come from privilege.

s7714
06-23-2008, 06:12 PM