PDA

View Full Version : Any librarians on?

blisstwins
09-05-2008, 01:15 AM
I have worked in education my whole life and am in a funky situation for a lot of reasons...the bottom line is that high school teaching requires, in many ways, too much of me. Too much class prep, too much grading, too much politics/pressure. At this point, with young children, I feel firm that I want something on an academic calendar. I was vacations and summers to overlap with my children. Should I think about library school? What are the options? Are there school options that are not insane? I want to go to work and come home without hours of stuff to do.

Thanks!

Babywhite
09-05-2008, 01:24 AM
I finished my MLIS degree before DD was born. After being in the education field for several years, I knew that I didn't want to teach. I decided that the library science field would allow me different options for the future.

After finishing my master's degree, I worked as a children's librarian in one of our local public libraries. I plan on working in a school library once DD goes to school.

It is a lot of work, but it is a lot of fun. You don't have the same kids all day -- which I think is a plus. Also, you don't have all of that paperwork.

I also enjoy that it deals a lot with technology.

After DD finishes school, I could look at other options with this degree -- such as working in a college library, medical library, etc. (Of course, I would need additional classes... :))

If you are interested, try volunteering in a school's library for a while. You'll definitely know if you like it or not ....

Good luck... :)

niccig
09-05-2008, 02:42 AM
Librarian here, but at universities. No, I didn't bring tonnes of stuff home everyday. I did at times stay late or bring something home, but not daily.