PDA

View Full Version : Balance Bike Recommendation for older child?

emschwar
09-16-2008, 02:09 PM
My mom is getting DS1 a balance bike for hanukkah. He's 4.5, but has no natural grace whatsoever. He really needs a balance bike!

He's tall - 75th percentile. Can anyone recommend a good balance bike (preferably under $100) for a child his size? A hand brake would be a nice plus too.

Thanks!

WatchingThemGrow
09-16-2008, 02:49 PM
I'm not good with the budget restriction, but the Trek Float would probably be great for someone his age/size/stage. Check to see if your local bike dealer could swing you some kind of deal on it. Since they transition into real bikes, I'm thinking you won't likely find one used. It should last him longer than just a balance bike, though. My friends own a bike shop and were wishing DD was older than 2 so she could try it out. We ended up with a Specialized Hotwalk instead :)

emschwar
09-16-2008, 05:02 PM
I looked into the trek float, and it's just too expensive. It's more than a balance bike + a regular bike. Playskool is coming out with a "convertible" balance bike too, but even that's $120.

stefani
09-16-2008, 06:11 PM
At that age I don't think a balance bike will last long. DS has a Kinderbike, he is 5 years old, 42 inches tall, so probably about your DS's height. The Kinderbike is still OK, but I think it is getting a little small, and I am looking into the Trek Float or as you mention it, Playskool's convertible bike.

While a Trek Float might be expensive, I like the fact that it becomes a regular bike. If you buy a balance bike this year, that probably means next year he needs a regular bike.

Good luck and do update us what you end up getting, please.

emschwar
09-17-2008, 06:55 PM