PDA

View Full Version : Just Curious: Does Anyone Paint Their Fingernails Anymore?

randomkid
10-14-2008, 08:56 AM
Other than a French manicure, that is. In the 80s (dating myself, here), I used to keep my fingernails painted with color most all the time. I now work in a hospital setting (and have worked for this hospital in various settings for 18+ years) where only natural nail polish and short fingernails are allowed.

My nails grow fast, so they are usually a nice length despite the dresscode, but I never paint them. If we are going out for a special occasion, I'll get a French manicure, but I was just curious if painting with color is totally out right now or do people still do it? I am so totally out of touch on this element of fashion. For that matter, I'm not even sure if French manicures are still in, but my 15 yo stepdaughter wanted one last year when she was going to a dance because all her friends were getting them. So, I figure I'm still safe with those - lol!

jgenie
10-14-2008, 09:03 AM
Yes, people still polish their nails. I polish my own nails - I'm picky about how they're cut - I've been doing them so long that I've gotten very good. I love OPI polish in reds and dark pinks. With a 9 month old I don't get to do them very often though. I need to work on that.

kep
10-14-2008, 09:11 AM
Nope, I just don't have the time. Well, I have the time to paint them, but I never seem to have the time to remove the chipped polish. Therefore, I avoid painting them to keep from looking unkept for weeks. :D

kboyle
10-14-2008, 09:16 AM
i do :) most of the time they are unpainted since i'm a nailbiter, but i'll try to cut them short & paint them to avoid biting.

and i'll get mani/pedi when i have to go to weddings or stuff like that.

gatorsmom
10-14-2008, 09:59 AM