PDA

View Full Version : What is that Foamy stuff made out of?

MamaMolly
10-15-2008, 03:37 PM
I've always thought the craft foam (and the thinker stuff too) smells funny and was wondering if anybody knows what it is made out of?

DD loves a new book that is made of it and wants to sleep with it. I'm also a little worried shell nibble on it since it is nice and squishy.

Does it out-gas? Do you mind your kids playing with it? What the heck is it, anyway?

TIA

JTsMom
10-15-2008, 05:01 PM
I have no idea, but it does smell awful! I bought some foam letter stickers for Jason, and when I opened the box, the smell about knocked me over! I took them back, and I've avoided it since. I'm anxious to see if anyone knows more about it.

ThreeofUs
10-15-2008, 05:32 PM
I hesitate to post on this, but as a former research chemist, I can say that there are a few things it could be.

-Many foams outgas formaldehyde, styrenes, and other "plasticizers" (compounds that make the foams flexible). Many people notice this when their new car windows get a film on the inside, but it happens all the time with other things made out of foam as well.

-Foams also often contain a fire retardant called PDBE (called a brominated ether, if that makes any difference to you), whose outgas smells like rotten eggs mixed with liquid plastic - really foul.

The carcinogenic properties of these compounds are arguable. Some say "stay away at all costs", some say "not a real problem." Personally, I'm risk averse, so I try to keep myself and my family from too much exposure.

The smell should be gone after 3 weeks or so. If not, I wouldn't use.

JTsMom
10-15-2008, 05:37 PM
Rotten eggs and liquid plastic sounds pretty accurate to me! Nasty, nasty smell! :sick:

MamaMolly
10-15-2008, 06:38 PM
I hesitate to post on this, .