PDA

View Full Version : A long vacation WWYD

elephantmeg
10-19-2008, 03:40 PM
OK, so my dad's family is very close. He's one of 5 kids, I have 10 cousins and we're all close. We've been getting together every other year the last several years, renting beach houses. That grandma has paid for. Last year she moved into a retirement community and can't swing the houses, and all the grandkids are older/getting married so we need more and more rooms. So, the cost for a week at the beach is going to be $869 PER ROOM. So families with older kids will be paying their room plus a split of a room for unmarried kids. (Most of my aunts/uncles have incredibly good jobs in case you hadn't figured that out-NASA, a doctor...). We do OK and actually have enough money in savings to do this but that's not what savings are for IYKWIM. I work part time as a nurse so I can stay home more with the kids (who are the only great grandkids)

OK, option 1:
pay the money and stay with them

option 2:
we had indicated at the beginning that we could only pay $500 which they indicated was fine-grandma would eat the difference. Do we go this route? DH thinks not since we could technically afford the vacation. My parents say that if we don't then the rest will have to pay more since the houses they have selected have room for us.

option 3:
take our travel trailer (which was our investment into vacations!) and camp nearby. It would end up being about $300 between rental fees plus extra gas to pull a camper. The campground is about 25 min away and mom and dad said that the kids could nap in their room during the day so we could spend all day there and basically just sleep in the camper.

option 4:
offer to pay the $500 but if they find someone else who wants to pay the full amount for the room then we camp. (ie one of the cousins who probably isn't coming decides to come..). This is the best idea I can come up with.

other ideas? Ugh, family!

TIA :)

bubbaray
10-19-2008, 03:49 PM