PDA

View Full Version : How much to spend on teacher gifts?

tmarie
10-22-2008, 11:16 PM
My dd has 3 teachers at school. I'm trying to start my holiday shopping early and am contemplating how much to spend. Dd attends school 3 days/week and loves her teachers. But I'm on a budget this year...what is appropriate?

TIA!

AuGoldie
10-23-2008, 12:14 AM
I would think $5-$10 a piece. And I would stick to something nuetral like a nice box of chocolates or a mug etc. As a teacher I never expect anything from students and am very appreciative of any kids who made the gesture. I think anything more expensive would embarrass me.
Jackie =)

ha98ed14
10-23-2008, 01:11 AM
I come from a family of teachers. I think 5 to 10 dollars would be fine as PP said. My advice tho, skip the mug, they have tons. $5 at Starbucks or $10 to Target, Barnes and Noble or Borders will be VERY much appreciated!

irie i
10-23-2008, 01:59 AM
I would say $5-10 as well. You can also buy things in sets and make a little bag/basket for them. I worked in retail for many years and I make little teacher baggies all the time. You can get great deals when you purchase in multiples...soaps, candles, lip balms, lotions, etc. Things to pamper teacher. Just make sure you don't go overboard with scented things. The more mild and natural the better. I wouldn't go to a place like Bath & Body Works or Victoria's Secret, for example, as their products are heavily scented and not at all moisturizing.

wellyes
10-23-2008, 07:38 AM
I say $5 max. My aunt was a kindergarten teacher and after the holidays she was always giving away tons of little trinkets that she'd received from her students. I think it was more of an annoyance to her than a pleasure, although she always said nothing but wonderful things about the kids.

WatchingThemGrow
10-23-2008, 07:57 AM