PDA

View Full Version : Have to give idea of salary per hour for research assistant.

niccig
11-07-2008, 06:21 PM
Further on from older posts about me working part-time at the museum.
They want me to give a figure for how much I want to get paid per hour. I have no idea. I've searched for research assistant jobs and salary ranges from $14-$30 per hour, but some of those positions are very different either college student or high level clinical research. This would be at a non-profit museum, and I know they pay less than at universities. I used to be a librarian and earned about $25 an hour + benefits. Part-time librarians in my area are $20-25 an hour - depends on library, community college is less than university etc.

We talked about the first research project - evaluation of hands-on exhibits at local museums for 0-5 year olds, and to please take DS along. She wants me to be a secret shopper and see what everyone else in the area is doing. I'm assuming I should get reimbursed for the entrance fees?? The evaluation is more in-depth than just my reaction, survey of museum education literature etc. She wants an idea of what is being done nationally, what the trends are etc. But what fun for DS to go to all these places - some we've already been too, but others are new to us and I get paid to take him there.

Any thoughts or advice, please...

Nicci

WatchingThemGrow
11-07-2008, 07:14 PM
I have no idea. My research assistant position in grad school was like $5/hour a few years ago. I guess it included health insurance, though, so that made it MUCH more valuable.

Whatever the case, you didn't tell us HOW COOL the job sounds! That sounds like a rockin' time for you and DS!

pinkmomagain
11-07-2008, 07:24 PM