PDA

View Full Version : Jumperoo/Entertainers

nckd
11-19-2008, 12:07 PM
Good Morning Everyone.

My daughter just got her four month vaccinations.:cry: She did ok. I made my husband go with me this time.

Anyways, while we were at the Pediatricians office, we were giving a paper saying that walkers/bouncers slow down the baby's development. I was wondering if that means jumperoos/entertainers as well. Does anyone know?

Thanks.

mommylamb
11-19-2008, 12:19 PM
I'm no expert, but I think the warnings against these things are because there are people out there who will leave their child in one for ages (and walkers are just unsafe, so I wouldn't get one of those probably anyway.). I think if your DD is in an exersaucer or a jumperoo for short periods of time, and is otherwise developing her gross motor skills normally, I wouldn't worry about it. My DS had a jumperoo an d an exersaucer and loved them. We had no developmental delays. But again, I'm not an expert.

brittone2
11-19-2008, 12:37 PM
I worked as a pediatric PT before becoming a SAHM. When I was an intern, I put together a project for the practice I was working in on exersaucer/jumper use at the urging of the therapist supervising me. She was very anti saucer/jumper, as was her husband (a pedi orthopedic surgeon). There was a pediatrician's office that was located below our practice and that doctor requested info for a display for his own office and he handed out literature to parents.

Most PTs and OTs discourage the use of saucers/walkers/jumpers in children. Several studies have linked walker use to sitting, walking, and crawling later, even in kids that are developmentally normal overall. Many of these studies are older but are thought to apply to saucers as well as walkers.