PDA

View Full Version : If your girls are close in age do you get them matching dolls or different ones?

teeniebeenie6
12-16-2008, 09:52 PM
If your daughters are close in age do you get them matching dolls or different ones? I bought two different Zapf dolls from the huge Amazon sale, they have different functions, one gets sick and you can make it better, the other kisses and says bye bye.

My daughters are 21 months and almost 3. Do you think I'm smart to get each girl one of each doll or to give them each one of the different dolls and let them share? I'm new to this whole doll buying thing. We didn't have plastic dolls before because of the risk of lead and phthalates but now I've found a few European owned companies who make sure their dolls don't have either.

Melaine
12-16-2008, 10:52 PM
I debate this often....lol.....I am hoping down the road we will be able to deviate but the plan for now is identical or VERY similar dolls (like different colors). My twins are 26 months. It definitely hasn't been a problem for them to have the same exact dolls so far....(they use them interchangeably, ykwim?) Then again, they do have princess dolls that are the same kind of doll, just one is Belle, one Cinderella, and they don't have a problem with those. They never forget which on belongs to which one of them!
If a doll does or says something I kind of tend to wonder if that would be an issue for my girls....like I can see DD1 getting mad that her doll doesn't say "bye bye" like DD2's doll.

I don't know....let us know what you do!

bubbaray
12-16-2008, 11:03 PM
Well, I *was* going with the similar in looks to each DD. That worked when DD#1 was super-blonde and blue-eyed and DD#2 had darker hair and brown eyes. Now, DD#1's hair is going a bit darker (though still blonde) and DD#2's hair is getting lighter.