PDA

View Full Version : Back to the rat race?!

bethie_73
01-11-2009, 11:02 PM
With layoffs pending at my work, I decided to see what is out there. Technically we could live off of DH's salary, but we could not get ahead, or pay off his student loans. I don't know if writing this will help me sort my thoughts but here goes.

I did not plan on going back to management until DS was in school (2 more years). My job right now is good but not that challenging (I've been doing it for 7 years). Going to a Director (or Assistant Director) position will be challenging. If I choose another non-management job, it will be a lateral move, and I would work nights... as in 6pm to 2am.

Management is a step up from where I am now, and hopefully would include a raise to accompany that. That would mean I could find really good care for DS right? Getting back into the rat race, I'm not sure I'm ready. I am qualified, but I don't know if I want to do this stuff anymore, maybe I'll change my mind when I get into it. And this way I can get back in without getting a Masters Degree.

A night job, well I wouldn't get much sleep, but I would still be able to be the primary care giver to DS. And I could learn some more skill sets in addition to what I do now. DH thinks we will fight though... alot, because I will not get any sleep.

happymomma
01-12-2009, 12:45 AM
Wow, that is such a hard decision. I don't have any advice but wanted to give you a :hug: for the hard decision. I don't think I would be able to do a night shift. I need my sleep.

cvanbrunt
01-12-2009, 10:38 AM