PDA

View Full Version : Any advice for first-time children's portraits?

gatorsmom
01-20-2009, 06:21 PM
I've never done family portraits before, I always took pictures myself. But it's getting harder and harder to get all 4 kids to remain looking cute and at the camera at the same time. I was hoping to get a picture of the kids all together since they are at such a cute age. But I have never done this before and wanted to know if you guys have any advice.

Also, I have coupons for Target and JCPenneys. Is there a difference in quality between the 2 stores IYO, because the coupon for JcP only allows for an $8 package + first sitting fee free (and I have 4 kids). But Target offers a $9 package (the packages are comparable) + zero sitting fees.

Any advice other than be prepared for meltdowns and runny noses, etc?

o_mom
01-20-2009, 06:46 PM
Well... the $8/9 packages are for one pose. That means all the pictures will be the same pose. If you want multiple poses, then you should go for individual sheets - $2-4 each depending on the coupon. You don't have to decide ahead of time, so if you only get one good picture, then the package is a great deal. If you have several you like, go for the individual sheets. Unlike some other place, Target and JCP let you pick which pose to get a package of - I think Walmart you have to take the first one that you accept, which is really bad trying to decide if this one is good enough or delete it and risk not getting a better one, etc.

If you are thinking this will be a one time thing or even just once a year or less, then go with Target for the free sitting fee. If you want to do more than that, then both places have portrait clubs you can join for around $30 for two years. With JCP you get free sitting fees (unlimited number of people). With Target you get $1 off each sheet. Both also have other benefits - like 50% the really expensive framed portrait (one time use), etc, but we rarely use those things - just the basic stuff.