PDA

View Full Version : Careers in Academia vs Industry

Sugar Magnolia
02-02-2009, 12:09 PM
I have another post about dh's disappointments with his career right now. He came home from a 7 day conference and is now unsure what he wants to do when he graduates (he is getting a PhD in Medicinal Chemistry). The plan was for him to go into industry.

But now he does not know if he is "cut out" for industry.

He wants to work in a lab.
Thats all he knows.
He is going in to talk with his adviser today. But I figured I would ask here to see what other mamas experiences are. He will be graduating in a year (yee haw), so we need to figure out what we want to do!
Experiences in both careers would be super helpful!
TIA!

wellyes
02-02-2009, 12:12 PM
I have NO experience in that particular field, but I do know that in general academia is much more competitive than industry. So the choice really depends on his temperament and if he thrives in a more competitive environment vs one that offers more work-life balance.

brittone2
02-02-2009, 12:28 PM
DH worked as a chemist in industry for 5 years and then decided to go back and pursue his PhD (analytical chemistry). Neither of us at this point in time has much interest in him hopping on the tenure track situation for academia. It is competitive, and I just think we both feel that our quality of life as a family could really potentially suffer (JMHO). THere are plenty of people that have good experiences w/ getting on a tenure track, and I know DH could totally do it, but I'm not sure either of us *wants* that since it can take a few years to actually get tenure.

Right now he's definitely leaning 95% toward a job in industry. I think he would do great in academia, but i'm just not willing to have him give up that much family time at this point in our lives.

nellonello
02-02-2009, 12:35 PM