PDA

View Full Version : Constipation help-almost 3 year old?

elephantmeg
02-03-2009, 10:37 PM
DS is almost 3 and potty training and having poop issues for the first time in his life. He hasn't pooped but a couple small turds since Thurs (he had a stomach bug then and had 5 poops that day). The last few weeks he's gone 2-3 days between poops and then had large hard poops that took a little while. As a peds nurse I've seen my share of impactions and serious issues with poops so I'd like to nip it in the bud! He eats a ton of fiber, drinks well etc but I've been pushing it, giving juice etc. So I called the nurse line yesterday and the nurse was kinda wishy washy. Kept saying what she did with her grandson etc. I was hoping for a concrete start with this, if no results do this, if no results come in... First she suggested a "disolvable laxative strip" ??? and then said I could also do milk of magnesia (MOM) 1-2 tsp. So I sent DH out to get MOM after work and gave him a dose. No dice. Gave him another dose today, nada. I did some rectal stimulation yesterday and today-nothing. The poop I can feel is soft, large and 2ish inches back. (I know TMI!). I've told him that it is fine to poop in his diaper. My MIL sent some of her miralax over so I'll try that. What else can I do? From googling I've come up with a list that include mineral oil (which seems to be in MOM), MOM, miralax, ex lax chocolate chews.... you name it, it's there.

Twoboos
02-03-2009, 11:40 PM
So sorry you're going through this, poop issues totally stress me out.

Try having him sit on the potty 2x a day, usually after bfast/dinner, maybe for 5-10mins if he will. Also with his feet up on a stool, gives a better angle.

Definitely let him go in the dipe if that's what he's holding out for!! It's a vicious cycle once it starts!

there are a couple of threads on constipation, too. I'll see if I can find 'em.

ETA: here's a search result, it seems to have 3-4 threads in it with lots of advice!!