PDA

View Full Version : Cutting off family?

blisstwins
03-09-2009, 08:03 PM
This is complicated so I will try to be brief. My mother and brother are super close and are pretty awful to me. My mom and dad divorced when I was little and my mom never worked through her feelings of hatred for him. My mom and brother are not educated, my father was. My father also made a significant amount of money in his life. Fast forward to a little more than a year ago. My father died and I am executor. I am educated (brother dropped out of college, I have a PhD) and I was close to my dad. My dad was rough on my brother, but I have done nothing to him. My father's estate is not settled and I am trying to run the family business he established. I get NO HELP from my brother at all--just demands for money and things that are almost jeapardizing the business. My brother took his inheritance early (forced me with threats) and after the market crash and legal fees there was nothing left for me and DH. My mom does not see this or anything else as a problem. My husband and I work like dogs and have begged for my brother's help. Nothing. Now he wants more money and my mother is backing him.
I have children and they love my mother. I am exhuasted. I grew up feeling that my mom loved my brother more. In fact, I always felt she kinda hated me. When she got mad at me she would always call me by my father's name and say "you even walk like him." My father was a flawed man, deeply flawed. I did not choose to be on his side, but I did well in school. It seems ridiculous.
Anyway, my husband used to be close to my mother and after years of marriage and the ugliness brought out by my father's death he now hates her and thinks I need to have nothing to do with her or my brother. I am finally at the point I agree.