PDA

View Full Version : Homeschoolers: Did your DC go to preschool?

lmwbasye
03-29-2009, 12:47 PM
DS1 is 4 and has always been in a daycare type setting since I've been teaching. This year was my first year home and with DH deployed, we decided to keep him in preschool until he got home. Anyway, we have a move coming soon and I'm starting to look into preschools and think about kindergarten the following year (2010). As a former kindergarten teacher, I'm less than thrilled with the idea of a traditional school setting for my DS for various reasons. I'm beginning to consider homeschooling since I've met a lot of Army spouses who do this.

Anyway, next year DS would be in a pre-k program (2 1/2 hours a day) and was wondering if I should even send him if I'm considering homeschooling him (although not certain on that at all). I was wondering what other homeschoolers have done and how has it worked out for you.

TIA!

Melaine
03-29-2009, 12:56 PM
I was homeschooled from birth-highschool. My mom says that preschool and kindergarten are the easiest ways to learn if homeschooling is right for you. It's a very natural progression from teaching your baby to walk, to say "please", not to bite, to hold your hand in the parking lot, etc. then on to learning letters, numbers, colors, shapes, (all the things you have probably been working on already).
My parents were both public school teachers, which is why they chose homeschooling for us. It's amazing how many homeschooling parents were also once teachers....I think you should go for it!

mamicka
03-29-2009, 01:02 PM