PDA

View Full Version : New SAHM....I fear I'm not good at this. :(

tmarie
04-15-2009, 08:54 PM
So, today is DAY THREE. I just poured a large glass of wine (btw, I never drink on weekdays!) and dh has relieved me of my duties, giving our almost 4yo her bath.

I LOVE my girls. I was looking forward to taking a break from my PT work schedule (although dd#1 has been attending preschool 5 days/week since I was on preg. bedrest last year). But after less than three days at this, I feel like a terrible mother with an out of control child!

Background on my Dd#1: is a very animated and affectionate child, loves school, loves to learn, high energy, always praised for being 'the best behaved' child in the class.

How Dd#1 has behaved for me this week: DOES NOT LISTEN! Ran in the middle of a busy parking lot today, disobeyed or made choices she knows are against our rules on an almost 10 minute basis, somehow got red crayon all over ivory rocker--crayons are supposed to stay in playroom; constantly being rougher than she should around 9mo little sister (this is pretty normal but it drives me crazy b/c we show her how to behave appropriately and gently enough all the time). The list goes on.....I know some of these things seem minor. I try to let stuff that isn't DANGEROUS slide. But her overall attitude was to say she heard me and understood, then within 10 minutes do what she is not supposed to do. Then she apologizes profusely and thinks it should be forgotten. I can't tell you how many time outs we're doing on the steps and it isn't doing a darn bit of good. We do time outs on weekends and they seem to be more effective. Today she was rolling her eyes and saying, "okay mommy, how loooooong?" when I told her she was in time out. We do the 'can you tell me why you are in time out', sorry, i love you thing for each incident.