PDA

View Full Version : Why are they still giving visas?

vahnessuh
04-16-2009, 10:21 PM
I'm talking about immigration. A few months ago Microsoft laid off thousands of employees... in this economy. Now explain to me why they are still giving out visas to foreign workers?! How about not giving out work visas to foreign workers and rehiring some of their laid off employees that are US citizens or at least US permanent residents? Or if they don't want to rehire them, I bet you there are thousands, even millions, of people across America that are qualified for those jobs!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a US citizen. I'm a permanent resident here. But even I can understand that before this country can recover from this economic mess, it needs to take care of its own citizens. One way to do this is to give its citizens jobs... not give them Social Security or unemployment benefits.

This really annoys me... Microsoft is in the position to help out citizens of this country by giving them jobs... but what do they do? Give these jobs out to foreign workers! In this economy! Meanwhile, millions of Americans are scrambling to find jobs... including the ones that they laid off. Those people should definitely do something about the situation.

C99
04-17-2009, 12:23 AM
I have read that it's really, really, really hard to get an H1-B visa these days, so I am not sure if your information is accurate.

vahnessuh
04-17-2009, 01:18 AM
Well, my information came from a friend... whose husband is apparently going to be receiving an H1B visa. Every year, H1Bs have a certain quota (number of visas they give out each year)... which is why it's hard to get one. There are millions of applications each year and only a few hundred thousand are granted.

Apparently this year the quota wasn't reached so everyone who applied gets one... that's what the lawyers at Microsoft told their workers who applied.