PDA

View Full Version : Delivery Options--Any Advice?

elbenn
04-19-2009, 07:46 PM
Twin A is vertex and Twin B is breech. My doctor won't deliver a breech twin vaginally, but she is willing to try to turn Twin B after Twin A is born. If Twin B doesn't turn vertex, then I will have to have a c-section for Twin B. I don't know whether to try for a vaginal birth and risk having a c-section for Twin B or whether I should just plan a c-section. My question is does anyone have any idea of the odds for Twin B to be turned vertex after Twin A is born?

Hawkeyewife
04-20-2009, 01:18 PM
I am by no means an expert, but if I were in your position I would try for a vaginal birth for both babies. I guess my biggest question for the OB would be what are the risks of birthing a breech twin after the first one has "paved the way" so to speak compared to the risks of having a ceserean section (for this birth and any subsequent pregnancies/births). It seems to me that most OBs opt not to do breeches, VBACS etc due to thier malpractice insurance requirements, maybe this is the case in your situation. Talk with her, but if you want to have a vaginal birth, you should try!

Best Wishes for a safe and healthy delivery!

Wife_and_mommy
04-20-2009, 03:00 PM
Singleton mom here but if you have the possibility of vaginal birth, I'd start with that. Seems both options are setting you up for a section.

FWIW, my SIL's baby A was a frank breech so she ended up with Csec. Her OB is skilled at delivering twins vaginally so the option of a vaginal birth was there.

Congratulations. :)

twowhat?
04-20-2009, 09:41 PM