PDA

View Full Version : Question for Dance Recital Moms

WitMom
05-03-2009, 04:23 PM
DD1 has her first dance recital coming up in 2 weeks, and I want to get it "right" lol. Do the parents typically give their dancers flowers? If yes, when? At home, before/after the recital? Or at the actual recital? If you do it at the recital, how do you work the logistics of it all and keep it a surprise? I mean, if we take the flowers along with us in the van, DD1 is going to know we have them with us, and they wouldn't be a surprise. Or is it such a given that there is no element of surprise?

Also, what about the dance instructor? Are we expected to get her flowers? If so, when are they presented to her?

Can you tell I'm a novice?

bubbaray
05-03-2009, 04:31 PM
We give them after the performance, so when we pick her up from backstage. Last year, we made it a surprise. Not sure how it will work this year. I think they might sell them at the performance (ours is in a huge theatre, seats about 5,000!). I've also considered a fabric flower, which would last longer and is easier to hide.

Last year, I also did a small stuffed animal (like a beanie baby). That would be easier to hide.

I'll do an end of the year gift for the teachers, but not something at the performance. Then again, I'm not very happy with them -- the !#$% rehersals start at 8pm. That is a topic of a whole 'nother thread, though.

MaiseyDog
05-03-2009, 10:27 PM
I would ask the teacher what is the norm. DD1 had her first recital on Saturday and there is a time at the end where each girl is recognized and that is when the flowers/gift is given. So it was all well organized. The flowers were somewhat of a surprise for DD, but she did see other people bringing them into the auditorium, so I'm sure she kind of knew. DH dropped us off and then went and picked them up. It worked well for us, since she and I had to be there early to get ready and he and DD2 could come right before it started.

Melbel
05-04-2009, 07:27 AM