PDA

View Full Version : Europe with a 1 year-old?

ourbabygirl
05-03-2009, 09:48 PM
My husband & I have been wanting to go to Spain (I'm a Spanish teacher on leave, & he's never been to Europe) for quite some time now. We had planned on going last June or the one before it, but I had a baby in October ('08) & the medical professionals thought it'd be better to stay stateside. So we still want to go & were thinking of trying for this fall before we have another baby & before we'd have to pay for airfare for our little one. Is it a terrible idea to fly to Europe with a one year old? We took her to AZ & FL this winter & she was great on the plane, pretty much slept most of the time & was really quiet otherwise.
Any advice? Should we skip it, or is it possible to do without going crazy:D?

¡Gracias in advance!

BeachBum
05-04-2009, 07:26 AM
We took our son when he was 13mo. The hard parts were the time change, keeping him in the car/stroller so often for sightseeing, and eating dinner so late. overall I'm glad we did it, But it was nothing like a kid free vacation.

JdrKuhnert
05-04-2009, 08:28 AM
In my opinion, that's a pretty good age to fly with a child. Both of my boys mainly slept on the plane at that age. There was no kicking the seat in front, screaming fits because they hate the seatbelt, etc. Kids are also much more portable at that age. As long as your stroller has a good recline, you can sight see and baby can sleep. I would take a carrier for those places where a stroller is either not allowed or doesn't fit.
I haven't had problems with the time change with my boys. We usually fly at night, they sleep, and it's morning when we arrive.

egoldber
05-04-2009, 10:20 AM
It depends very much on the 1 year old. If your kid is easy going and a good sleeper, then why not? We took my older DD to France when she was 9 months old. However, her younger sister on that same trip would have been a disaster!

Zansu
05-04-2009, 02:01 PM