PDA

View Full Version : Work clothes (esp. plus size / tall)

ockeghem
05-04-2009, 11:46 PM
Does anyone have advice on finding suits or decent work clothes? I haven't been able to find anything so far.

I'm four months pregnant, and I'm a professional in a very conservative company. I really can't say anything about my pregnancy at work until I'm about 6 months pregnant (for bonus / raise reasons). I am tall and a bit overweight to start with; I've been able to get by in my old dresses (size 14 / 16) so far, but I'm at the point where I'm getting too big for my suits.

I've tried looking at the Gap, Pea in the Pod, Motherhood Maternity, and a local store here in Vancouver called Hazel that carries some Australian lines. Pea in the Pod doesn't carry anything I could have worn before my pregnancy -- their large is most stores' medium. The Gap's idea of "work" seems to be only empire-waist dresses -- nothing approaching a skirt suit. Hazel carried some jackets and skirts, but all the jackets but one were empire waist (which just emphasizes what I'm trying to cover) and all were made of cheap polyester. I need to avoid going into work in empire waist jackets or suits that suddenly look much cheaper than what I would usually wear.

I also tried a few plus-sized stores but none of those clothes seem to fit right -- they're way too big everywhere I don't need them to be big and they hang oddly, which also makes it look obvious that I'm buying clothes that are too big for some reason.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Or are decent suits just not available in maternity sizes, especially tall / large sizes? I'd prefer not to spend a fortune but if I have to do so I need to get just one suit that will get me through until at least my sixth month without looking too pregnant.

vludmilla
05-05-2009, 12:11 AM