PDA

View Full Version : I can't handle my dad's attitude towards DH! A really dumb, unnecessarily long rant.

MMMommy
05-09-2009, 02:28 AM
My dad who will be 73 this year is very set in his ways. His way is the RIGHT way. Everyone else's way is the WRONG way. I'm sure you get the picture. Stubborn, unbending, and rigid in his thinking and way of doing things. Old school conservative. He takes offense to anything that goes against him or his way of thinking.

My parents have always been loving, giving and generous in all ways. Simple as that. They would give the world to their daughters (me and my sister) and our kids. We don't ask them to, but they would if they could.

DH is an attorney. My dad would always ask DH legal advice. I'm an attorney too, but for some reason, he doesn't ever want MY legal advice. That's just the way it is, and I'm not offended by it b/c DH is more qualified to render advice in the areas my dad seeks help. Anyways, he asks DH for legal help on anything and everything. Can DH make a phone call? Can DH review this document? Can DH do this, that, this, that? DH found that annoying and cumbersome, but obliged. Also, he would bother DH with computer problems all the time. Whenever my dad had a computer problem, he would ask DH for help and expect him to help him in person, at his house, asap.