PDA

View Full Version : total newbie to DW research needs help!

skohng
05-11-2009, 12:04 AM
hi all,

I'm sorry for the lame, generic, open-ended question, but I don't even know where to begin. I don't even know whether we want to go to disneyland or WDW.

Here's what I do know:
1. We are a family of four (2 ds's, at time of travel 4.5yo and 23mo) wanting to go with another family of four (at time of travel 1 ds 5yo, 1 dd 2.5yo)
2. We are wanting to do a condo rental for all of us to hopefully save on lodging and food
3. We plan to make this trip in September for about a week

Of course like anyone else, this comes down to cost-efficiency. Where do I start researching lodging and any recommendations out there? How realistic is it to plan meals at the condo or with packed lunches vs. eating on site? What should a daily schedule look like? How will I know which is the better "deal" or which is more "worth" it or most age appropriate (disneyland vs world). I did see the "what to do, what not to do" thread, which is very helpful, but still need specific guidance.

Grateful for any advice. Thanks!

egoldber
05-11-2009, 06:28 AM
Well for us, it comes down to WDW is much, much easier to get to vs. DL and more affordable to either fly or drive. If you're more in the middle of the country, maybe the decision is not so cut and dry, but I would price transportation to start with.

Also, how long do you plan to be gone? If it's for a week, then WDW has more to offer IMO. If it's only for a few days, then DL may be more manageable.

I would not assume that staying on property is more expensive than staying off. Once you factor in rental car costs (no need for a car if you stay on property at WDW), the promotions currently being offered by Disney it may be close.