PDA

View Full Version : Not sure which carrier to get.

incognitomms
05-13-2009, 10:46 AM
Hello everyone,
I'm new to baby carrying, I had a Bjorn with my daughter and neither of us liked it. I would like to try something different with my son(1month old), I need to be hands free since my daughter is now a very active two year old.

Yesterday I went to a local store which sells slings, wraps etc and tried a bunch on but I'm still not sure what will work best for me once I get it home. I was mainly looking at the wraps, Mei Tai or slings. I want something I can use from newborn to young toddler(1-2) and that isn't too complicated to use every day around the house. I would like to spend less then $100 for it.

I haven't seen any posts compairing the Gypsy Mama BaliBaby Stretch to the moby. I had read that the moby tends to stretch out more and isn't as good for larger/older babies. The GM Bali says it is less stretchy so might work better for longer?

When trying the hotslings on I liked how easy it was to put the baby in but wasn't sure it would be comfy to wear all the time and it didn't seem as secure as the wrap, if I was running around after my daughter or bending over to pick things up and cleaning etc. I didn't care for the ring slings as much.

For the Mei tai I tried a babyhawk, seemed a bit harder to get him tied in it then the wrap. Seemed to me like I could tie up the wrap ahead of time then put him in where the Mei tai I had to tie it with him in my arms which seemed a bit harder to me. I also wasn't sure if it had as many positions as the wrap.

I had wanted to try the ergo but they didn't have any in stock. Also not sure if I want to spend that much. Is it easier to put the baby in then the bjorn, I found it hard to put the baby in by myself to do up all the clips and my daughter just didn't look comfy in it. Would it be hot for the summer with the infant insert?

Any other suggestions for carriers that I haven't mentioned?