PDA

View Full Version : Is this crazy to consider? (re:going back to school)

tylersmama
05-19-2009, 12:26 AM
So, in a nutshell, I need to either go back to work or go back to school, due to the divorce which will be final next month. After much despair and gut-wrenching, I think I've decided to go to nursing school. Admissions are very selective, but I have ten years of experience in health care and very good grades from undergrad and grad school so I think I have a better than good chance at getting in.

The problem is that the school I'm looking at requires that pre-requisites be from within the last 10 years, and wouldn't you know it, I graduated 11 years ago. :rolleyes: So, I have to re-take four classes: Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, and Statistics. A&P don't scare me at all, since they would pretty much just be a review for me; micro doesn't worry me much, either. Statistics does a bit, since math isn't my strongest suit and it's been so long since I've had to do ANY kind of classwork, let alone math.

The nursing school has two deadlines for application, a priority deadline in August, and a final deadline in November. If you have all of your pre-reqs completed, you can apply in August and they notify a select few in November that they got in. Everyone else gets notified in March (to start the program in June).