PDA

View Full Version : What's so great about Maclaren?

ourbabygirl
05-19-2009, 09:13 PM
Hi!

Since I'm new to the whole stroller thing with a 7 month old, I don't know much about different brands, and I'm wondering why it's so hard to find a reasonably priced basic, basic umbrella stroller. I currently have the snap-n-go for our infant seat, but can't use it now that she's in a convertible seat. Also have a Graco travel system one, which I feel is too bulky for me now and barely fits in my small sedan's trunk, so I don't use it anymore. Also have a BOB, which I love, but I want something super-compactable to take into stores without carts instead of having to carry DD. It seems like Maclaren (sp?) is very popular, but why, when it's so pricey? Is there something I can get for around $40 or $50 that's gender-neutral & nicer than a cheapy $20 thing?
Just want to spend wisely :wink2:!

Thanks...

WatchingThemGrow
05-19-2009, 09:19 PM
I see spending wisely as something that will last through more than one child, will not make you curse when you use it, will not cause unnecessary strain on your back when you push it (no hunching over), is versatile enough for public transportation those few times suburbanites go into the city, and will hold kids weight-wise until they are done strollering- even those last few trips to Disney when they are 4.5 and still could enjoy a seat. With all that in mind, I feel like our Triumph (from AlbeeBaby for $140 or was it $114 in 2006?) was a bargain. I don't ever have to "shop" for another lightweight stroller again because this one is lasting really well!

codex57
05-19-2009, 09:48 PM
Yes, spending nicely doesn't mean buying the cheaper item all the time. My neighbors have discovered this with their double stroller. Sometimes, paying more for the quality item is the "wise" decision.