PDA

View Full Version : Which volunteer positions at DS's school?

niccig
07-10-2009, 02:53 PM
I have to fill out a form for the volunteer positions I would like to do in DS's pre-K class. There are several jobs listed and you get to indicate which ones you would like to do. I'm wanting some feedback as to how others felt about various jobs, I do know that the experience is different from school to school and class to class.

I plan to volunteer and be part of the school community -but I also don't want to take on more than I can handle. I used to be pretty organised, but lately I'm more disorganised than ever. As we're new to this school, I don't know what to expect. I do plan to volunteer in the library as I was a librarian pre-DS. I'm not working or studying, but I do plan to hopefuly get back into either work or study over the next year.

General Room Parent - main point of liaison between teachers and other parents.

Field Trips/driver coordination - the classes go on several field trips a year, and this person works with the teachers to organise the field trips, parent drivers etc.

Scholastic Book Orders - organise monthly book orders for the class - how much work is this?

Teachers' Gift - coordinate holiday and end of school gifts. Is it a pain to collect money?

Farm Liaison - the school has a small farm - really a couple of acres garden. Each class gets to visit and do projects - plant garden, science projects, build forts or just play. This person helps their child's class with their visits.

egoldber
07-10-2009, 02:56 PM
Scholastic Book Orders - organise monthly book orders for the class - how much work is this?

I've done this. It's so easy. Really.

I was also room parent. That can be a bit of a PITA. I don't think I will do it again.

The teacher gift has always been done by the room parent, so it's interesting they have that as a separate job. By itself, this isn't a big deal.

SnuggleBuggles
07-10-2009, 03:13 PM