PDA

View Full Version : What can you tell me about the Outer Banks?

SnuggleBuggles
07-11-2009, 12:44 PM
We are considering a spur of the moment vacation to the Outer Banks. We know a lot of people who vacation there and there are some who have more opinions about the best place to stay. I am curious to hear from even more people. Where do you like to stay? Where wouldn't you stay? Why?

I wouldn't mind being close enough to grocery stores, restaurants or some other activities but I'm not that concerned about that. I would prefer to be walking distance to the ocean.

I have a good start on rental properties so I am set there. I just need help narrowing it down because the rentals are all over the place and I just don't know why I should chose Avon over Hatteras, for example.

If there is a property you have rented and loved, please tell me about it though. Always nice to hear 1st hand reviews vs just reading online descriptions.

Beth

lizajane
07-11-2009, 12:52 PM
i am an expert! hee hee!!

i would stay in duck or corolla because those are my favorites!

my family's rental property is in corolla, in corolla light. the rentals in corolla light offer indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts, lifeguards on the beach, chair and umbrella rentals on the beach, walking trails, ocean and sound access, close proximity to a food lion and harris teeter (3miles and maybe 5 miles from our house), shopping, but not too much so that it is junky, and a shuttle service from the houses to the various amenities/beach.

you do not need ocean front to be a short walk. we are ocean side and the walk is very short, even with little kids.

nags head is pretty crowded with "stuff" everywhere- stores, cheesy beach shops, gas stations... so it isn't my first choice. but if you plan to eat out a lot or want mini-golf like activities, that would be the place to be.

last time i went to Avon, i was in high school! but it was really nice then! ha ha!