PDA

View Full Version : Dairy-free lunch help!

Mommy Of A Little Angel
08-12-2009, 06:45 PM
I am new to the dairy-free club and lunch is killing me. I have no idea what to eat! I don't really have time or hands at this point to full out cook so convenient meals would be best. I don't really like cheese so the alternative cheeses don't really appeal to me at all. I am allergic to tree nuts so that is out to. Any ideas what I can eat? So far I have come up with peanut butter sandwiches, salads, some canned soups, and deli meat.

ThreeofUs
08-12-2009, 07:11 PM
I love salads with beans, veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, etc.) and ...

STEAK.

Slice the steak up thinly into the salad and it's really yummy with any dressing. I make a mustard/mayo/olive oil dressing for it, with lots of black pepper.

mickminmom
08-12-2009, 07:49 PM
I have been eating alot!!! of turkey sandwiches on wheat. They are very filling but getting a bit bored :)

Another one in my rotation is chicken,rice, and veggies with an orange sesame or teriyaki sauce to make Asian style. I cook brown rice and then freeze in smaller portions. Poach chicken breasts and shred, then pack in portion sizes. Easy to thaw and throw together..

I will be looking at this thread for more ideas!

justlearning
08-12-2009, 08:08 PM
You can make lots of easy salads for sandwiches--tuna salad, egg salad, chicken salad, etc.--as well as many pasta salads.

Recently I've started making tofu salad that just uses tofu, mayo (I use soy mayo), dijon mustard, and spike seasoning and my entire family really likes it. Here's a youtube clip that gives the recipe and shows how to make it (it's the second recipe shown in this clip): www.tiny.cc/qgFV3