PDA

View Full Version : health insurance, work, fairness issue--what do you think

blisstwins
09-03-2009, 10:54 PM
First, if you get your health insurance through you employer what do you pay for it if anything?
Do you have to pay more for the family plan?

Here is my issue and I need to know whether or not I am off-base. I took a job and was told I would receive full benefits, including health insurance.
We currently buy health insurance privately because my husband is self employed. I expected to pay something toward insurance through my employer, but no where near what we pay buy it on my own.

My employer pays for me entirely--I contribute nothing. But if I want to cover my family I have to pay myself and it is just about the same as if I buy it privately. My co-workers said the employer believes it is unfair to single employees/childless families for them to provide a benefit to families.

I am a professional in a pink collar job. This is an employer that speaks a lot about our professionalism, glass ceilings, and other progressive workplace issues.

Am I offbase for feeling diasppointed or do many companies treat issurance this way these days?

kijip
09-03-2009, 11:03 PM
IME, most smaller employers are only able to offer coverage for the employee. Larger employers are more likely to offer family benefits.

You mentioned that "This is an employer that speaks a lot about our professionalism, glass ceilings, and other progressive workplace issues. " Can i assume that you work for an advocacy group or non-profit of some sort? I work in non-profit and have not found full-coverage for families to be remotely common. It's a cost issue for smaller employers with smaller groups and thus higher rates.

blisstwins
09-03-2009, 11:05 PM
It's a single sex school with 150 employees if that matters.

niccig
09-03-2009, 11:11 PM