PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of potlucks?

ourbabygirl
09-09-2009, 09:29 PM
We have a party coming up in a couple of months, and I was wondering if I could ask people to bring a dish to share (we're inviting about 15 couples & their kids). Is that really cheap & cheesy? I've never done this before, only with small gatherings with my siblings & their spouses. If you think it's in really poor taste, I'll skip it, but if it's something that people do often, then maybe I'll give it a try :).

Thanks!

Piglet
09-09-2009, 09:31 PM
We have had a blast with potlucks, though we usually limit it to a smaller group and have a theme meal. It is one of my favourite parties! I don't think it is cheesy at all, though I am biased.

DrSally
09-09-2009, 09:31 PM
I've done it, but while in grad school/interning. I don't think it would be a problem with an informal group you know well. That's a lot of people to feed.

bubbaray
09-09-2009, 09:33 PM
Virtually all "food" parties I've hosted have been potlucks. They are the norm here, at least with my friends. Our largest potlucks were with our (former) running club, probably around 100 people over the course of the evening. Not all ate, of course, and everyone knew that if you wanted food, you'd better show up early!

SnuggleBuggles
09-09-2009, 09:34 PM
Depends on the occasion, imo. A Superbowl Party? No problem with that being potluck? A birthday? Not a big fan. Really I think if you invite people you should be prepared to host- and provide all food.

But, dh feels differently. :) He says it is perfectly fine unless it is a b-day party. He doesn't know why he feels that way...but I guess he and I both agree!

eta- I do like potlucks though and would be happy to participate. You know your friends better so try and think of them.

Beth

ha98ed14
09-09-2009, 09:36 PM
I like them fine for church get togethers, or a picnic among friends for no reason except to socialize. For birthday parties and baby showers, I find them tacky.