PDA

View Full Version : Recommend your walk-ride!

janine
09-21-2009, 11:20 AM
I'd like to buy one for my little one who is cruising but not walking. I've seen tons of cute ones, but alot of negative reviews (tips over ,etc). Can anyone recommend one that is functional, but also sturdy (won't tip over when they pull themselves up) and ok on carpet/wood floors?

Or does this not exist? ...thanks!! :)

brittone2
09-21-2009, 11:53 AM
Honestly, I worked as a pediatric PT pre-kids and I never saw or used one that I liked. There may be new and better ones out there but I rarely see any highly recommended here. Hopefully if someone has one they like, they'll let you know though.

What is important for a push toy is a wider wheel base, and a handle that doesn't stick out very far from the center of gravity. A sturdier toy is easier to push, and for that reason my personal preference has been wood. The RF walker wagon gets great reviews and has little clickers on the wheels that help slow the speed. We have the Haba walker wagon, and it is very, very stable. Both are expensive but can be resold for a decent price on craigslist when you are done, or used creatively with older children for toy storage (the RF), a doll stroller, or a stand in grocery cart (especially the RF).

The plastic ones usually have plastic wheels which tend to be more likely to skid/slide. They are also usually harder for a child to pull to stand at as they aren't as heavy or stable.