PDA

View Full Version : How much to pay for quality used furniture?

twinbabies
09-22-2009, 06:47 PM
Hello-

I am new to the baby-world, expecting twins and trying to buy the best quality things I can find out there...but not pay retail. I have decided that despite recommendations I am willing to buy used nursery furniture if it is in great condition.

While searching my local craigslist I recently found what seems like a good opportunity to buy a complete set of Morigeau-Lepine furniture from someone who had twins themselves.... However, the prices seem awfully high and I was hoping someone out there who has purchased similar furniture might be able to advise whether this person is trying to take advantage of me or whether these prices seem reasonable. I know it's a high-end brand, which is what I want, but I don't know if it is true that these pieces are worth as much as is being asked for them considering that I am buying them used.

Here are the details:

The set is Morigeau Lepine – 1900 Series, 3.5 years old, in a green apple/wheat finish. She claims that the following were purchased for $6000 (does that seem like it could be true... has anyone here purchased a similar set new for themselves?) and that she would like $1750 for everything described below:

2 cribs - model # 791 and the “discreet drawer” #101.

2 sealy high-end mattresses (I may end up buying new mattresses anyway, but these are included with the cribs)

1 glider - model # 1900 and ottoman - model #1300

1 dresser/combo model # 1917 and hutch that goes on top model # 1953.

If you think she is asking too much, how much would you offer for this set, assuming it is in great condition....

Thanks so much for your help!

mskitty
09-22-2009, 10:35 PM
Hello-

I am new to the baby-world, expecting twins and trying to buy the best quality things I can find out there...but not pay retail. I have decided that despite recommendations I am willing to buy used nursery furniture if it is in great condition.