PDA

View Full Version : Diary of a Wimpy kid books

kijip
09-26-2009, 11:20 PM
A relative just gave T 3 of these. They seem funny (I know Nancy Pearl, rock star librarian, recommends them) but I thought they were for older kids, topic wise. Thoughts? Should I take them and put them away for few years? What's the age range on these as far as content?

Piglet
09-26-2009, 11:24 PM
DS1 and all his friends were obsessed with them last year (2nd grade). They all read and re-read them. I am not sure if they would have been age appropriate before that age, but that was when they were released (or thereabouts I started seeing them at Costco).

Cam&Clay
09-26-2009, 11:25 PM
I'm a school librarian, and I find that they are most popular with 3rd graders and up. I've read them, though, and there's nothing harmful there for a younger child. He just might not get all of the humor! My 5th grader thinks they are hilarious.

And the girls love them just as much as the boys! I can't keep them on the shelves and I have about 4 copies of each title!

kijip
09-26-2009, 11:46 PM
I'm a school librarian, and I find that they are most popular with 3rd graders and up. I've read them, though, and there's nothing harmful there for a younger child. He just might not get all of the humor! My 5th grader thinks they are hilarious.

Thanks for your expert opinion. He seems to like what little he has read so far.

If some of it goes over his head, he can revisit them later.

We did have to define moron for him :p And admonish him that under no circumstances do you call someone a moron.

egoldber
09-27-2009, 07:53 AM
Sarah loves these! :)

Tondi G
09-27-2009, 08:35 PM
My 3rd grader loved these last year. They were the first books he picked up and read all the way through quickly... as in he started one evening and finished the book the following afternoon! They have a 4th book coming out soon, Dog Days. My son is excited!

Melbel
09-27-2009, 09:28 PM