PDA

View Full Version : Those of you with kids hearing two languages at home...

elektra
10-05-2009, 02:20 PM
Do your kids only speak in one language? Or both?
DD (2.5) has been hearing Spanish on a regular basis (daily from the nanny and at all family gatherings) but DH and I only speak English to her. She seems to understand Spanish but she only speaks in English. When the nanny speaks Spanish DD just answers in English.
DH and I were just wondering what we could do to encourage her actually speaking Spanish.
I am not a language expert but I had read that it's best for each individual to stick to one language when speaking to a child, if the purpose is for the child to become comfortable in each language.
And when I try to speak Spanish to DD on occasion she just tells me "Don't talk like A" (the nanny).

Maybe it will just happen (or not) and there is nothing to be "done" necessarily.

arivecchi
10-05-2009, 02:29 PM
DS1 speaks both. He is 2 years 10 months old. He speaks Spanish with our nanny, my family and with me. He speaks English with his dad, his friends and his dad's family. I would encourage the nanny to tell your DC to only speak to her in Spanish. That is what we do with my DS. I encourage him to only speak to myself and the nanny in Spanish. He is just as advanced in both languages and understands what is Spanish, what is English and who speaks what at this point. Hope that helps a little.

citymama
10-05-2009, 02:29 PM
DD will pretty much speak only in English. She uses lots of words in the second language we speak to her in (mostly I do, not DH), and she has a fabulous accent on the occasions when she will deign to speak it. Our problem is we talk to each other in English, and have to make a special effort to keep the home bilingual, and she clearly knows she doesn't *need* to speak both. I am happy with her having the building blocks, pronunciation, vocabulary, even if she isn't completely fluent.