PDA

View Full Version : How hard is it to sell on eBay?

Kymberley
10-08-2009, 04:23 PM
I've got a lot of random stuff that I need to get out of here. Before DS came along, I was quite the spender. Lots of nice shoes, purses, etc. need to go! So is it difficult to sell on eBay? I'm afraid of the loser buyers that don't pay and will end up wasting my time. But, I need the money from this stuff, so I'm kind of motivated. Kind of. Anyone with experience have words of wisdom before I delve into this? Thanks!

clc053103
10-08-2009, 04:46 PM
I cleared out my handbag collection and sold on ebay. Here's what I did- I am by no means a pro but it worked well!

I put about 3 up a week to keep it managable. first, I cleaned everything, and looked up the official names on line (in the case of designer bags) if possible. I then took photos of each bag on all sides and inside (if it is a COACH bag, you must take a picture of the creed- it's the way people spot fakes). Review a few entries for similar products before you list yours. I then listed the item with a .99 opening bid to generate interest, and no reserve. I offered USPS shipping to make my life easier, and you can go to the post office to get flat rate boxes to take the guesswork out of shipping costs. Watching the bidding and the watchers became quite a fun hobby! And if you google the subject, you will find lots of tips!

My one big tip would be to note right in the auction that item will be relisted if not paid for within 48 hours of close (or 72 hours) because people don't seem to be afraid of non paying bidder strikes anymore and just bid and don't pay.

KrisM
10-08-2009, 06:53 PM
My one big tip would be to note right in the auction that item will be relisted if not paid for within 48 hours of close (or 72 hours) because people don't seem to be afraid of non paying bidder strikes anymore and just bid and don't pay.